Day Fifty: 2 December 2009

Today we had a big student government Christmas kickoff event as a fundraiser for a toy drive which was tonz-o-fun. Also, I did a super intense cross-fit type workout with a freshmen in Stanford who is in my Italian class, Justin Hintz (the J-Cat). He is super-buff and strong, but only works out for 20 minutes every other day (and eats healthy). So I decided to workout with him today, and it was crazy. He did pull-ups with 70 extra bounds cluthced between his legs! He did pushups with his feet on a chair which makes them a lot harder. He did a lot of other crazy stuff where he was hanging or holding himself up doing leg lifts and dips and stuff. I couldn’t do nearly what he could. He has an eight-pack, which is gnarly. I don’t plan on getting very big, but I can tell that I have been getting stronger lately through my gym workouts. Also, now I am coming home on the 18th, which is one day earlier than I thought! And I think I posted that yesterday to, but I’m feeling lazy and not going to check.

A deeply skeptical Congress resigned itself to President Barack Obama’s escalation of the Afghanistan war, even as the president’s chief military and diplomatic advisers sought to cool any expectations that the war would end in two years.

After months of negotiations, Comcast Corp. is finally about to seal its deal for a majority stake in NBC Universal, turning the nation’s largest cable TV provider into one of its most powerful media companies.

With a public apology and another appeal for privacy, Tiger Woods acknowledged that he let his family down with unspecified “transgressions” that he regrets with “all of my heart.” “I have not been true to my values and the behavior my family deserves,” Woods said on his Web site following a magazine report of an alleged affair.

Leave a Reply

